Skerries Tri






Fingal Triathlon Club were delighted to host their fifth Skerries Tri; Sprint Triathlon, Junior Triathlons and Aquabike at Red Island.  This year’s races was a special one as it marks the

35th anniversary of Ireland's first ever Triathlon, a race held in Skerries in 1983, organized by Skerries native Maurice Mullins.


Conditions for race day could not have been better with very little wind reported on the bike course, a calm sea for the swim and fabulous sunshine throughout the morning.


Once again, the race proved popular with athletes of all abilities, from the super competitive to the first timers.  Our Aquabike and relay options were also a great success, enabling many more athletes to take part in the race.


Proceedings got underway at 09:30 with the first wave of athletes taking to the water from a beach start, first out of the water was our eventual overall winner Andrew Bye who took the lead early on. Andrew increased this lead on the bike leg of the course and maintained it throughout the run to finish first across the line in a super time of 01:01:46, almost 4 minutes ahead of our second placed athlete Maciej Brumm who was followed by Skerries man, and former winner, Ben Malone.


The ladies race was also hotly contested with Maeve Maher-McWilliams storming home in a fantastic time of 01:08:03. Maeve was followed by Spain’s Esther Bayon in second and Shannon Kelly in third.


Our 8 relay teams completed the race in some fantastic times, each competitor giving their all and visibly pleased when handing over the chip once their leg was over – though these smiles may have been due to the jaffa cakes and chocolate muffins made available to the athletes in the relay pen…


The Aquabike contest was very popular again this year with the men’s title going to Ross Hamilton, the only competitor to break the hour mark with a time of 00:59:25. Ivan Casey and Harmon McBride were second and third respectively with only 16 seconds separating them.  The women’s race was won by 9 seconds with Heidi Sheehy taking first place in a time of 01:11:36 and Roisin O’Brien in second.  They were followed by Donna Mahon in third.


Each year Fingal Tri Club award the Maurice Mullins Perpetual Trophy to the Winning Man and Woman from Skerries and this year’s recipients were Ben Malone and Nicola Tangney.


A special mention to MAKO Tri Club, newly formed this season and out in force at the race today with many folks completing their first triathlon. There were 40 members taking part and even more supporters who added to the fantastic atmosphere on the course – well done to all!


Fingal Tri Club also had a number of athletes competing today, many of whom were completing their first sprint distance triathlon so massive well done to all, and to the marshals screaming themselves hoarse cheering you on!


Once the Senior race was well under way it was the turn of the Junior athletes to rack up and ready themselves for their races. We had 5 age groups competing today and the races started at 11am with the oldest age group kicking things off with some very impressive performances. The last group to set off were the 6-7 year olds who put many of the seniors to shame with their fantastic racing and transition skills – definitely ones to watch in the future!


Full Race results can be found on


Male overall winners:

1st - Andrew Bye

2nd - Maciej Brumm

3rd - Ben Malone


Female overall winners:

1st - Maeve Maher-Mcwilliams

2nd - Esther Bayon

3rd - Shannon Kelly



1st - Team 312 - Graeme Dennis

2nd - Team 313 - Maurice Fagan

3rd - Team 316 - Aoife Malone


Male Aquabike:

1st - Ross Hamilton

2nd - Ivan Casey

3rd - Harmon McBride


Female Aquabike:

1st - Heidi Sheehy

2nd - Roisin O'Brien

3rd - Donna Mahon

Maurice Mullins Perpetual Trophy:

Men: Ben Malone


Women: Nicola Tangney


Web Design by Active Online

© Fingal Triathlon Club